So have you ever? 

Soooo have you ever had a meal no matter what it is that instantly brings you back to a certain time, and it feels like you are there in that moment from the past? 

I have a few meals like that, but most recently I had one that took my right back to high school on any given Saturday morning during football season.

I was in Marching Band, and football season always meant competition season! This is what we worked all summer for out in the unrelenting sun day after day, all day for months. 

We would show up at the school around 6:30/7 am to get in one more full practice of our show before it was time to load up the busses and go. 

Now anyone in sports or competition can tell you… There are some rituals that you always do before the big game, big competition what have you, and I was no different. 

Every Saturday I would stop at this little corner store that had a little restaurant grill thing in it, and I would get a breakfast bagel and a Yoo-hoo I would sit on the floor in the hallway of our quiet high school (except for the band people running around) with my friends and we would talk and laugh. 

The other day at work a coworker brought be a bagel sandwich and with that I walked to the corner store and grabbed a Yoo-hoo, came back and sat down to eat my delicious sandwich, and I was instantly in that hallway in my high school on any given Saturday during football season with my friends laughing without a care in the world. 


I love the power that food has to take you back to a time filled with memories. These memories are what I thought about that day as I ate my sandwich and drank my Yoo-hoo. Then I immediately texted my best friend who was also in band with me, and let her know I was thinking of her and some of our memories from band. 

Leave a Reply

